Academic Calendar 2019-20

VSSD College

Vikramajit Singh Sanatan Dharma College, Kanpur

Sanskrit Department was established in 1925 with B.A.. M.A. classes were started in 1927. The Department was enriched by learned & renowned past faculties like Dr. Hari Dutt Shashtri a well known name in the field of Sanskrit literature, Dr. Chandra Shekhar Pendey writer of 'Sanskrit Sahitya Ka Itihas', Dr. Ram Suresh Tripathi a Prominent scholar of Indian Philosophy, Dr Satya Narayan Pandey, an expert name in the field of Sanskrit Literature & poetics, Dr. Krishna Kant Tripathi, an eminent writer Commentary writer of Sanskrit text books, Dr Vishwambhar Nath Dwivedi, a specialised scholar of Pauranika Literature etc.

The Founder

Current Faculty Members

Sanskrit Department of VSSD college at present is strengthen with 4 Faculty Members in total including head of the department Dr. Nav Lata. Faculty members in Sanskrit Department are working in various areas helping their students to gain good knowledge in Sanskrit .

The Founder

Department Recognitions

Faculty members & students of Sanskrit Department have worked hard and achieved recognition in different fields over the years. Some major recognitions are listed below.

  • Km. Puja Singh got first position with Gold medal in M.A. University examinations 2015

  • Dr. Nav Lata was awarded twice by Delhi Sanskrit academy for her research work on ''Sanskrit Sahitye Jal Vijnanam'' in 2002 & ''Sanskrit Vagnmaye Krishi Vijnanam'' in 2004, awarded Banabhatt Samman 2004 & Vishisht Samman for 2009 by UP Sanskrit sansthan, first prize for her research paper in national seminar 2014 organized by Bharatiya Shikshan Mandal Karnatak, first prize for her research paper in international seminar organized by Bharatiya Shikshan Mandal, Rajasthan, Sanskrit sewa Samman 2015 by Help You Trust UP & so many other awards.

  • Dr. Shobha Mishra was awarded Vishesh Puraskar 2013 by UP Sanskrit Sansthan.

The Founder


Content Pending...

The Founder

Courses Offered

UG courses- more detail to be provided by dept. reference chemistry dept.

PG Courses- more detail to be provided by dept. reference chemistry dept.

The Founder

Research activity in the Department

Research activity in the Department Faculties are involved in research activities as they have published more than 30 research papers in various Journals. Faculties are used to present research papers in national & international seminars too.

Ph. D. & Dissertations- 15 Ph.D. awarded in last 5 years. 1 is running. New enrolments are in process. More than 20 dissertations have been done by students of M.A. guided by faculties.

The Founder


Students of the department have got placed in various recognised organizations

Some of the students those passed out in past few years from sanskrit department are:

  • Sri Pawan Pandey, Passed out 2009, TGT, Din Dayal Upaddhyay Inter College, Kanpur

  • Sri Amol Aarya, passed out 2010, NET, PGT- J.K.R.R. Hindi +2 Vidyalaya, DhanBad, Jharkhand

  • Sri Ratan Kumar Shukla, passed out 2010, Assistent Teacher, Shiv Pal Sing Inter College, Saifai. Etawah

  • Sri Jnan Prakash Passed out 2009 PGT Captain Sukhvasi Singh Janata Audyogik InterCollege, Ghatam Pur Kanpur Nagar.

  • Sri Bharat Prasad, passed out 2010, Typing clerk, IIT, Kanpur.

The Founder

Alumni of the Department

Department of Sanskrit has a wide list of reputed alumni who have earned emmence respect in various fields and are serving the society in some or the other manner.

Some of well known alumni of sanskrit department are:

  • Dr. sudha Rani Pandey ex VC Uttarakhand Sanskrit University, Haridwar.

  • Dr. Kailash Nath Dwivedi ex Principal G.G.C Kaunch, Jalaun & a frequent sanskrit writer gained many National awards & recognitions.

  • Dr. Vijaya Laxmi Trivedi ex Principal A.N.D. College Kanpur.

  • Dr Asha rani Rai Principal, Kanpur Vidya Mandir PG College Kanpur & a leading name of Arya samaj at national level.

Quick View of Sanskrit Department

Students Enrolled

  • Undergraduates:

  • Graduates:

Courses Offered

  • Lorem ipsum, Lorem ipsum, Lorem ipsum,Lorem ipsum,Lorem ipsum,

  • Lorem ipsum, Lorem ipsum, Lorem ipsum,Lorem ipsum,Lorem ipsum,

Intake Capacity

  • UG Course: 60

  • PG Course: 60

Current Faculty

  • Dr. Nav Lata is the current HOD of the department.

  • Including HOD there are four faculty members in sanskrit department at present.