Academic Calendar 2019-20

VSSD College

Vikramajit Singh Sanatan Dharma College, Kanpur

Geography Department was established in 1943. PG Teaching in the department got started in the year 1949. The Department is enriched by learned & renowned faculties. At present there are 450 students enrolled in the department. Department Students have a success rate of 95%. 60 publications have been published by the faculty members of the department. Environmental Science is a part of department in which 04 faculty members are working since 2005.

The Founder

Current Faculty Members

Geography Department of VSSD college at present is strengthen with 09 Faculty Members in total including head of the department Dr. Sadhana Rani. Faculty members in Geography Department are working in various areas helping their students to gain good knowledge in Geography .

The Founder

Department Recognitions

Faculty members & students of Geography Department have worked hard and achieved recognition in different fields over the years.

  • 60 Publications have been published by the faculty members of the department.

  • During last five years fifteen thesis have been guided by department faculty members.

  • Twelve Ph.D. have been awarded during last five years by the department..
The Founder


Department is equipped with its own library which contains around seven hundred books.

The Founder

Courses Offered

UG courses: B.A (Geography)

PG Courses: M.A & M. Sc (Geography)

The Founder

Research activity in the Department

Department Faculties are involved in research activities as they have published more than 60 publications.

Ph. D. & Dissertations- 12 Ph.D. awarded in last 5 years. New enrolments are in process.

The Founder

Alumni of the Department

Department of Geography has a wide list of reputed alumni who have earned emmence respect in various fields and are serving the society in some or the other manner.

Some of well known alumni of geography department are:

  • Dr. Shri Ram Arya – USPSC, Allahabad.

  • Dr. R.B. Chaturvedi – Member of higher education commission.

  • Dr. M.C. Shukla, Ex. Convener of Geography, Bundelkhand University.

  • Dr. R.C. Dwivedi, Rtd. Associate Prof. from R.B.S. College, Agra.

  • Dr. R.C. Sharma, Rtd. Principal, Varshney College, Aligarh.

  • Dr. S.C. Mishra, Officiating Principal, R.S.G.U.P.G. College, Pukhranya.

  • Dr. S.K. Tripathi, Associate Prof., Badrivibhal College, Farrubhabad.

  • Dr. D.N. Bajpai, Rtd. Asso. Prof., Janta Mahavidyalaya, Auraiya.

  • Dr. G.S. Baghel, Associate Prof. D.N. College, Fatehgarh, Fharrukhabad.

Quick View of Geography Department

Students Enrolled

  • Undergraduates:

  • Graduates:

Courses Offered

  • B.A (Geography)

  • M.A & M.Sc. (Geography)

Intake Capacity

  • UG Course:

  • PG Course:

Current Faculty

  • Dr. Sadhana Rani is the current HOD of the department.

  • Including HOD there are nine faculty members in geography department at present.